RSS

Cloudy Fall Day

16 Oct

It has been rainy and cloudy the past day or so.  I like rainy days…it’s cozy and snug in the house.  However, there was a break in the rain yesterday, and the light outside was rather pretty, so I thought I would hike around a bit with my camera.  While the lighting conditions weren’t quite ideal, it was still kind of beautiful in its own way.  I always enjoy macro photography…a good macro lens is one of my “someday” purchases.  However, I can do some decent macro with the lenses I have now, so I am happy for the time being.

It’s not the most breathtaking fall color this year, but it’s still beautiful.  I always enjoy the mustard yellow leaves and the cherry red leaves.  One of my favorite things about photography in the fall is trying to capture a single brilliant color with a very subdued background.  One stark leaf over a grayish background.  The eye really is attracted to that one pop of color and makes the composition that much more interesting.  Another thing I like, oddly enough, is the withering leaves and plants.  Somehow, a brown leaf, brittle and curled up, can be a thing of beauty.

As always my pets make an appearance here and there too. 🙂

So here is some of what I photographed yesterday.  I hope you enjoy the pictures and are enjoying fall.  Thanks for looking.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2013 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Cloudy Fall Day

  1. Pankaj Jyoti Barua

    October 16, 2013 at 6:07 PM

    I love the Beagle. He is so cute and the cat is adorable….
    http://globalsafari.wordpress.com/

     
    • Jenna

      October 16, 2013 at 6:47 PM

      Thank you so much, Pankaj Jyoti Barua! The beagle’s name is Simon, and he’s a sweetie. 🙂 I’m happy you like the photos. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

       
      • Pankaj Jyoti Barua

        October 16, 2013 at 6:48 PM

        Simon is really very cute….

         
      • Jenna

        October 16, 2013 at 7:12 PM

        Thank you. I think so too.

         
  2. janukke

    October 17, 2013 at 2:14 AM

    So lovely! Yes, it´s autumn. Can you believe it? Summer is always way too short. 😉
    Cut cat pics too. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      October 17, 2013 at 11:52 AM

      Thank you so much for the nice comments, Jana! It’s so hard to believe it’s fall, isn’t it? I’m glad you like the photos. 🙂

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    October 27, 2013 at 4:56 PM

    Beautiful photos Jenna. I really love the photos of the beautiful red and green leaves, and also the ones of the branches. Cloudy days are also perfect to photograph leaves in autumn, one of my most beautiful autumn photo was taken on an overcast day.
    Have a great week !

     
    • Jenna

      October 29, 2013 at 12:10 PM

      Thanks very much for the kind words, Jocelyne. Those leaves were so stunning and crisp. They’re fading fast now of course, so it’s good that I got the pictures when I did. I did enjoy the challenge of the overcast lighting for photographing these shots. I usually like really strong, dramatic lighting for fall shots, but this worked out too. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
