RSS

Monarch Butterfly Scratchboard

20 Oct

Here is my latest drawing.  I did this as a gift for my friend’s mom, who has been facing a lot of struggles lately.  My friend thought something with a butterfly theme would be a good subject matter for her mom, so this is what I ended up doing.  It was really different for me, because I rarely draw flowers and almost never have done butterflies.  It served to challenge me, but I enjoy that.  This is the second time I used the Ampersand inks to make a full color scratchboard.  The first time was for my commissioned Big Tree.  Once again, it was some trial and error, but what fun it was!

Monarch Butterfly on Flower

– 5×7 inch Ampersand Scratchboard

– Tools used were a #11 X-Acto blade and a fiberglass brush.  Ampersand inks were applied with a small round brush.

Jana's Mom's Scratchboard FinaleCR

Below are some progress shots.  I began with the flower petals.

Jana's Mom's ScratchboardCR

And here is the completed drawing before I added color.  It’s always a bit scary to add color because it changes the piece so quickly.

Jana's Mom's Scratchboard 5CR

And here is when I first added color.  It must be built up in layers to really glow, so it looked a bit muddy at this point.

Jana's Mom's Scratchboard 6CR

I hope you enjoyed the piece.  Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2013 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Monarch Butterfly Scratchboard

  1. karmami

    October 20, 2013 at 3:26 PM

    Not only very thoughtful but gorgeous as well

     
    • Jenna

      October 20, 2013 at 3:30 PM

      Hi karmami. Thanks so much for the sweet comments. I’m happy you like this. 🙂

       
      • karmami

        October 20, 2013 at 3:33 PM

        Yes I really like it ..thanks for sharing

         
      • Jenna

        October 20, 2013 at 3:37 PM

        Thanks again!

         
  2. Living Beyoutofully

    October 21, 2013 at 10:58 AM

    Really Nice Scratchboard piece Jenna : )

     
    • Jenna

      October 21, 2013 at 8:00 PM

      Thank you so much for the nice comments, Bre! 🙂

       
  3. janukke

    October 21, 2013 at 12:28 PM

    Thank you so much, Jen!! It´s extremely wonderful that you made this a-m-a-z-i-n-g piece of art for my mom! I cannot wait to give it to her. I know she´ll be very moved.

    In reality the colours are even more intense. I really love how they glow through the dark after sunset. It´s fantastic.

     
    • Jenna

      October 21, 2013 at 8:09 PM

      Jana, it was such a pleasure doing this for your mom. I hope she will like it and that it will brighten her day. I’m glad you made mention of the colors. It was difficult to get a good scan of this, as it was not as bright or colorful as the original. This was the closest I could photoshop the colors to look accurate. I am so happy you like the scratchboard. Thanks very much for the kind words! 🙂 🙂

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    October 27, 2013 at 4:44 PM

    Jenna, this is so beautiful ! You should draw flowers and butterflies more often, it is simply superb. I also love it very much without the colours. Great work 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      October 29, 2013 at 12:06 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I really appreciate your kind comments on my drawing. 🙂

       
  5. Marius Constantin

    October 28, 2013 at 9:07 AM

    Love the details of your drawing.

     
    • Jenna

      October 29, 2013 at 12:06 PM

      Thank you so much, Marius Constantin! 🙂

       
  6. willowandthetatertots

    November 20, 2013 at 7:15 PM

    beautiful

     
    • Jenna

      November 22, 2013 at 4:54 PM

      Hi willowandthetatertots! Thanks for the nice comment! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
