RSS

Steampunk Lamp and Clock

17 Nov

I’ve slowly become rather infatuated by the style of Steampunk art.  I’ve admired it for a long time, and have wanted to make some sort of Steampunk artwork.  Well, I’ve been needing a lamp over my bed for a while, and decided that would make a great project to apply the Steampunk style.

This has been my pet project, and I’ve been tinkering with it for a couple of years.  It is great to finally have it finished and hung in place.  It took a long, long time to decide what to do, or even where to begin.  Finally, though, I got a little mental picture in my head and started to tinker.

I used many different things for this, some new, most old.  Some are things I scavenged and scrounged over time, things in our old sheds, things found on the ground here and there…you name it. Of course, some of the items are purchased at flea markets, other things I bought at art stores.  Items used are vintage camera parts, brooches, jewelry, scrap metal, and things like that.  I used wire or chain to attach the items to the cage, which I bought at a hardware store.  It had a rubbery, glossy coating, which I scraped off with a razor so it wouldn’t look so new.

The looped gold thing hanging on the lamp is a very flexible spring I found in the basement.  I cleaned it up and used acrylics to paint it and “Steampunk” it.

The clock I purchased new.  I used grease-colored acrylic paints to age it, and attached gears for eyes, a glass lens for the monocle (because monocles are cool! 😀 ), and some old camera parts for the mustache.

The white hanger/bracket was purchased new, and the items attached to it are mostly found items.  I found the brown chain (covering the electric cord) on a clearance sale at a hardware store, which I wanted so the cord wouldn’t have to hold the weight of the lamp.  Of course, I couldn’t resist using a vintage Edison bulb for this.  It gives off such a warm, cozy glow.  Perfect for writing or sketching when I can’t sleep.

I could go on explaining the details for another five paragraphs, so I’ll just post the pictures now. Unfortunately, photos don’t really flatter it, but I tried my best.  Thank you for looking! 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Steampunk Lamp and Clock

  1. Simply Bree

    November 18, 2013 at 11:00 AM

    I have never heard of Steampunk until I was watching a wedding show and the bride wanted her wedding to be steampunk themed. Though I don’t think the steampunk style is for me, This work looks really cool!

     
    • Jenna

      November 18, 2013 at 11:33 AM

      Hi Bree. Thank you! It is certainly a style all its own, and I’m guessing it’s one of those styles people either love or hate. I’m glad you like my lamp, even if it’s not quite your style. 🙂

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    November 22, 2013 at 6:48 PM

    I had never seen something like that Jenna, and had never heard about steampunk artwork. This is so creative, wow ! I’m amazed at all the details on this lamp and I sooo love the clock. It’s really beautiful Jenna ! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      November 25, 2013 at 5:49 PM

      Thank you, Jocelyne. If you google Steampunk artwork and look at images, you’ll get a good idea of the art style. It is really very cool…outlandish, but cool. 🙂

      Thank you very much for the wonderful comments on my lamp and clock! The clock was sort of an afterthought, but I loved putting a face on it. Thank you so much again!

       
  3. susanai

    November 29, 2013 at 6:29 PM

    I think they’re all beautiful.

     
    • Jenna

      December 1, 2013 at 1:02 PM

      Thanks, susanai. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
