RSS

Icicles and Sunbeams

20 Jan

Though I just posted some winter photos, I can’t resist posting more.  In truth, our winter here in Wisconsin has been brutal.  Very, very cold and a lot of snow.  Despite the struggles that causes us, I have to admit that it does make for a pretty world to photograph.

Day before yesterday, I was unable to resist going out with my camera as the lighting was warm and pretty.  Despite the fact that it was only 11 degrees F out there, the sun had that hint of spring warmth, and the icicles were dripping.

The sunshine shone like a brilliant star out there, and I was so glad that came through in the photos.  The shafts of light coming from the sun made it look so star-like.

I also have some photos of icicles, which I tried to photograph as they dripped.  I’ve never had a camera able to capture that quick drop of water until now, so as you can imagine, I took many, many photos and then deleted the uneventful ones later.  I encourage you to enlarge the images so you can see the water droplets larger.  They are quite mesmerizing.  Just these perfect little upside-down worlds.  Another interesting thing was that there was always one large water drop, and one tiny one following it.  Like a perfect little marble.  So pretty!

I hope you like the photos.  Thanks for looking.  Stay warm!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2014 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Icicles and Sunbeams

  1. janukke

    January 20, 2014 at 8:46 PM

    Hi Jenna, it´s not really fair to post this after I´ve already used up my superlatives on previous posts. What do I say now? 😉

    Absolutely beautiful.

     
    • Jenna

      January 20, 2014 at 9:21 PM

      Jana, your comment makes me smile. You’re so kind. Thank you so much! 🙂

       
  2. CLARICE LAEHN

    January 28, 2014 at 8:11 AM

    Beautiful pictures!!!!

     
    • Jenna

      January 29, 2014 at 4:51 PM

      Thank you, Clarice. 🙂

       
  3. Jocelyne

    January 31, 2014 at 12:28 PM

    My favourites are the trees ! Soooo beautiful with the wonderful starbursts. The photos of the icicles are great Jenna, you captured them so well.
    I’m having problems trying to photograph outside this winter, it is so cold that my battery freezes and I can’t even take a photo. You really seem to enjoy your camera, that’s great !

     
    • Jenna

      January 31, 2014 at 4:07 PM

      Thank you so much for your kind words on my photos, Jocelyne! It makes me happy that you enjoy my photography. Thank you! I’m sorry your camera battery is causing problems. I don’t go outside with my camera for more than a half hour at a time usually, so maybe that’s why I haven’t had trouble this way? I hope you’re able to get some fresh photos soon! You must miss it.

       
      • Jocelyne

        January 31, 2014 at 5:43 PM

        Yes I miss it ! My camera was sent away for repair, again, last week…. I think there was a hair that got inside the camera and I had a half grey-black circle on the top of my photos. Also the camera freezes after only 10 minutes outside so I wanted to have that verified too. I’m looking to buy a used Nikon D80, I know someone who is selling one for $400.00 with two lenses. It would be my second camera when my better one is away for repair…

         
      • Jenna

        February 2, 2014 at 11:45 AM

        I’m sorry to hear you’re without your camera again. I hope the repair is simple and that you soon have it back. It does seem strange for the battery to freeze so quickly.

        Wow, the Nikon D80 is supposed to be a super camera! I hope that works out for you. Sounds like a great deal!

         

Leave a Reply

 
