RSS

A Scratchboard for the Swap

31 Jan

At WetCanvas, in the Western Forum, we have an annual art swap, where artists have the opportunity to trade one of their artworks with a fellow artist friend.  It’s a great tradition and so much fun!  Today is our “Big Reveal” day, where we all share our works.

So since my swap partner, Lisa, has now received this drawing, I can post it here on my blog.  I’ve held off until now to make sure it would be a surprise when she got it. 🙂  I got a most beautiful pastel painting of a horse from her in return, and it is wonderful!  Thanks, Lisa! 🙂

Scratchboard Horse (I really have to work on my titles!)

– 5×7 inches in size, on an Ampersand scratchboard.

– I used just the #11 X-Acto blade for this, as well as black ink to correct mistakes and touch up.  The beauty of Scratchboard is its simplicity and relatively few tools.

Click to view this larger.

Scratchboard Horse Final CR

Thanks for looking!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2014 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “A Scratchboard for the Swap

  1. janukke

    January 31, 2014 at 4:57 PM

    This is beyond awesome.

     
    • Jenna

      February 2, 2014 at 11:46 AM

      Thanks so much, Jana. I’m happy you like it. 🙂

       
  2. Lenore

    January 31, 2014 at 6:20 PM

    That is beautiful Jenna.

     
    • Jenna

      February 2, 2014 at 11:46 AM

      Thank you Lenore! I appreciate it. 🙂

       
  3. Kathy

    January 31, 2014 at 9:30 PM

    Oh Jenna, this is absolutely fabulous! Your scratchboard just gets better and better!

     
    • Jenna

      February 2, 2014 at 11:47 AM

      Thanks, Kathy! It means a lot to hear that. Scratchboard, as with anything, tends to improve with practice. 🙂 Thanks again!

       
  4. O.G.B

    February 1, 2014 at 12:35 PM

    Stunning!

     
  5. Jenna

    February 2, 2014 at 11:48 AM

    Thanks so much, O.G.B.! (It’s Bree, right? 🙂 ) I appreciate the comment.

     
  6. Cassie Bouska

    February 14, 2014 at 12:13 PM

    Jenna, this is fantastic! Lisa’s a lucky gal 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 14, 2014 at 10:37 PM

      Thank you so much, Cassie! I am so happy you like this. 🙂

       
  7. Jocelyne

    February 17, 2014 at 10:16 AM

    Oh wow ! This is extremely beautiful Jenna, so glad you posted it ! I think this one may be one of my favourites of your scratchboards so far 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 17, 2014 at 11:30 AM

      Thank you very much, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like this! I had a great time making it. I appreciate your comments. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
