RSS

Great-Great Grandma Georgia and Her Cat

19 Feb

For months now, I’ve had it mind to do a series of drawings from a collection of family snapshots that date back to the 1920s through the 1950s.  This amazing photo collection really gives a glimpse into the average daily life of my great and great-great grandparents and their families.  We even have a priceless casual photo of my great-great-great grandfather, James Ferris, who fought in the Civil War.  It’s a priceless collection, and I cherish these old photos.  The ordinariness of the collection of snapshots from this era add such personality and character to each face.  How can I stop at just looking?  I must turn this into a series of drawings!

So here is the first of what I hope are many drawings I plan to make from these photos.  This is my great-great grandmother, Georgia, sitting by a sunny window, with what seems to be a house cat.  If you’ve been following this blog for long, you know I am definitely a cat lady!  I just had to start with this image.

Great-Great Grandma Georgia with Her Cat

– 5×7 inches in size, drawn on Strathmore Artagain Tinted Paper.

– Drawn with Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens of varying grays and black.  I used mostly the brush tips for this drawing.  Once the ink was all in place, I added some touches of white charcoal to the brightest areas such as the curtain, cat, and other areas.

Great-Great Grandma Georgia and Her CatCR

I’ll also include the original photograph.  Sadly, the likeness in my drawing isn’t great…I hope the next drawings work out better.  I simplified that area in front of the cat, but I believe that blurry patch between the cat and Georgia’s shoulder is actually a kitten. 🙂

Georgia and Cat

Thank you for looking!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2014 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Great-Great Grandma Georgia and Her Cat

  1. Jocelyne

    March 11, 2014 at 4:20 PM

    I really love old photographs too Jenna. I think they are so important and I love to watch our family’s collection too. Sometimes we can even find some resemblance of traits with our great great grandparents, it’s amazing ! You made a very beautiful drawing from this photo. Maybe you’re a little too hard on yourself about the likeness, portraits is not easy. I think you did a great job !

     
    • Jenna

      March 13, 2014 at 12:54 PM

      Aren’t those old photos amazing? I love trying to figure out the stories behind them. I’m glad you enjoy your family’s old pictures too. I always feel sort of sad when I see old photos in antique shops…they seem so abandoned. Thank you very much for the sweet comments. Portraits are tough, but I guess it’s healthy to challenge ourselves sometimes. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
