RSS

Alfred and Nellie, 1947

17 Apr

Here is the second part of my Family series of drawings.  This wonderful photo of my great-grandparents, Alfred and Nellie, was taken in 1947, and I absolutely loved the casual, friendly look of them.  They seem so cheerful, don’t they?

New Macro Lens, Alfred and Nellie Drawing 017

It begged to be drawn.  So that’s what I did.

I recently bought a tablet of gray tinted paper, hoping it would be durable and hold up to my ink wash/marker style of drawing (such as the style I used for Georgia and the Tough Guys). Unfortunately, this new paper quickly wants to ripple when wet, so I had no choice but to stipple the drawing rather than do a more abstract style as I’d hoped. Still, the results were okay and I actually like the white charcoal with the stipple more than I thought I would. Happy accident. 🙂

Alfred and Nellie, 1947

– The drawing is 5×7 inches, and drawn on Strathmore 400 series Toned Gray paper.

– I used Prismacolor Fine Line Markers in sizes .005, .01, and .03 for the darks and the details.  Once I had the dark values in place, I applied white charcoal to brighten the highlights and breathe a bit of life into the drawing.  I blended the white charcoal some with a tortillian to soften the edges.

New Macro Lens, Alfred and Nellie Drawing 021 CR

Thanks for looking! 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2014 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Alfred and Nellie, 1947

  1. janukke

    April 18, 2014 at 12:08 AM

    I love this series! Your great grand-parents look very casual, happy and relaxed indeed. You did a great job drawing them! I especially like Nellie´s dress. You got it exactly right.

    It´s a good thing that you were forced to stipple. It seems to be just the right technique for the image.

     
    • Jenna

      April 18, 2014 at 10:31 AM

      Thank you very much, Jana. It means a lot to know you enjoy the series. It’s only just begun too. 🙂 I just love the easy-going feel of these two. I barely remember Nellie, as she passed away when I was quite young. Sadly, I never met Alfred at all.

      I’m so glad you like the drawing. The dress was a fun thing to do…those stripes were interesting to portray!

      Aw, thanks! I am fine with the stipple too, in the end. 🙂

       
  2. Jocelyne

    May 3, 2014 at 1:58 PM

    Really beautiful Jenna ! Once again I Iove all the details you put into your drawings. I liked all the creases in their clothes and all the details in their face and hair. You rendered this drawing really beautifully 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      May 4, 2014 at 11:24 AM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’m glad you enjoy the details in my work. I love to strive for details, so it’s good to know they are appreciated. 🙂 I appreciate you comments so much. Thanks again!

       

Leave a Reply

 
