RSS

Bear and Cubs

07 May

Several days ago, I was out for a walk with my camera and camcorder, planning to hike up to our pond to see if there was anything of interest up there, which there always is.  On the way, I spotted something much more exciting than frogs or ducks!  A mother bear and two cubs were at the woods’ edge.  It was one of those extremely fortunate moments when I happened to have all the camera equipment I needed.  Well, everything except for my tripod…I’ve got to make a habit of carrying that!

For a half hour, I snapped photos and recorded video of the happy little family, smiling to myself as those cubs tumbled and wrestled and climbed trees.  Only once, last spring, we saw a bear on our land.  The bear in this video may or may not be the same one, since she did happen to be in the same part of our field.  I spotted the mother bear first, and was thrilled by that alone, but when I first noticed something black moving in a tree, and spotted the cubs, I was in awe.  I’ve never seen wild bear cubs at all before, let alone on our farm!  As you can tell by the quality of video and photos, I stayed quite far away from them for the sake of safety. 😉

We’ve seen them several times, and now it’s part of my daily routine to look out the window and see if they’re out there.

I hope you’ll enjoy the pictures and the video.

Bear with Cubs, Sandhill Crane, Birds, Cattle 033 Bear with Cubs, Sandhill Crane, Birds, Cattle 034 - Copy Bear with Cubs, Sandhill Crane, Birds, Cattle 080Irvine Park, Hyenas, Peacock, Wild Bear 072

…For some reason, I always choose sort of silly music to go with my bear videos. 🙂

 

Thanks for looking!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Bear and Cubs

  1. Lenore Busch

    May 8, 2014 at 5:02 PM

    Wow Jen. That was pretty exciting. I really enjoyed watching your video. Thanks for sharing. Lenore

     
    • Jenna

      May 9, 2014 at 9:34 PM

      Hi Lenore. Thanks, it sure was an exciting thing to stumble across! I was speechless as I snapped photos and took video. I’m so happy you enjoyed the post. Thanks again. 🙂

       
  2. Cassie Bouska

    May 8, 2014 at 6:50 PM

    That is SO cool!

     
    • Jenna

      May 9, 2014 at 9:35 PM

      Thanks so much, Cassie! 🙂

       
  3. Jocelyne

    May 30, 2014 at 9:35 AM

    I don’t see bears very often and I never saw cubs. It’s so cool you have them on your land and can watch them and film them. I loved your video ! It’s so fun to see the cubs climbing in the trees, they seem to have so much fun ! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      May 30, 2014 at 12:21 PM

      Thanks so much for the comments, Jocelyne. I haven’t seen the bears for a few weeks now, so I suspect they’ve moved on. It was such fun to see them though. I’m glad you enjoyed the video!

       

Leave a Reply

 
