RSS

Mandarin Goby WIP 2

26 May

This is one challenging scratchboard!  I am not used to drawing fish at all, let alone one with such intense patterns all over its body.  This one is tricky.  But I think it’s good to push the envelope sometimes…this will be one of those drawings I will probably learn from.  It’s always good to step outside the comfort zone sometimes, right?

This is progressing pretty slowly, and I’ve had to make a lot of corrections as I go, but the nice thing about scratchboard is that it’s fairly forgiving.  I’m still avoiding those intricate lower fins, because they are so elaborate I’m not quite sure how to tackle them.  But I’ve made my way through the dorsal fins, which is a step in the direction, anyway.

I hope you like it so far.  Thanks for looking! 🙂

Mandarin Goby WIP 3 - CopyCR

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2014 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Mandarin Goby WIP 2

  1. Jocelyne

    May 30, 2014 at 9:45 AM

    Oh, this is really really beautiful Jenna ! You’re doing a wonderful job with the intricate details. I think it’s one of your strength in your art, the details, you are so good at bringing out each and every little details and you’re doing it beautifully. I’m looking forward to see it completed 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      May 30, 2014 at 12:38 PM

      Thanks so much! I am so glad you’re liking this so far. Oh yes, the more details, the better in my book. I love putting a lot of detail in. I expect this will look much prettier once it’s colored too. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
