RSS

Spring and the Wildlife it Brings

28 May

It’s a beautiful time of year.  The leaves are open, the grasses are growing, and there are animals moving and grazing and raising young everywhere.  It’s that time of year where my camera goes with me almost everywhere.  You never know what you’ll find!

It’s also been a good year for new sights.  You may remember the bear and her cubs that I was lucky enough to get on camera.  I’ve also seen Sandhill Cranes, Canadian Geese, Woodpeckers, Robins, Squirrels, Toads (noisy, singing toads), Bullfrogs, Redwing Blackbirds, Butterflies, Houseflies, and other insects.  While houseflies don’t sound too exciting, I was pretty happy to get some up close and personal shots of them.

I’ve also been really enjoying my new Macro lens.  I’m still practicing and getting used to it, but I think it’s going to be a truly essential addition to my photography equipment.  What am I saying?  It already is. 🙂

I hope you enjoy seeing some of the local wildlife in these photos I’ve taken.  All but the Sandhill Crane were taken here on our land.  It’s amazing what you find when you open your eyes!  There is one photo of a blackbird in flight with his beak open.  Look closely, and you’ll see an insect flying in front of him.  I have a feeling that insect was lunch!

As for the not-so-local animals, I recently went to a wildlife park nearby and saw the most amazing fanning peacock.  He was gorgeous and mesmerizing to watch.  I hope you enjoy the photos of him, as well as a couple other animals I saw there.  I think the hyena is a rather handsome creature. 😉

Thanks for looking!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2014 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Spring and the Wildlife it Brings

  1. Jocelyne

    May 30, 2014 at 10:05 AM

    Wonderful photography Jenna ! The photos are really beautiful, the exposition is perfect, and you photographed such great subjects. I really loved the photos of the birds in flight, you froze the movement perfectly. The peacock is really amazing, it’s colours are stunning !
    My favourite photo is the one of the sleepy tiger, sooooo very beautiful !!!
    Have a great weekend Jenna 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      May 30, 2014 at 12:41 PM

      Thank you, Jocelyne! High praise coming from you! 🙂 I’m glad the exposure looks good…that’s still a struggle for me. Photographing flying birds is such a challenge, so I love when I manage to get a shot of them. It’s amazing how many times I take a picture of a stick where the bird was, but the bird seems to be long gone by the time I snap the photo, haha! That peacock was quite a sight to see! And I’m so glad you like the tiger. I love big cats (or cats of all sizes for that matter 😉 ). Thanks again!

       
  2. Jocelyne

    May 30, 2014 at 10:08 AM

    Oops, not the exposition but exposure. Exposition is a French word 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
