RSS

Mandarin Goby WIP 3

11 Jun

I have been head over heels in love with the wonderful spring weather.  We’ve planted a garden, and plenty of flowers to make everything more cheerful and pretty.  It’s one of my favorite seasons.

I’m also still enjoying a real zone when it comes to artwork.  I’m trying to get as much art done as I can lately.  The Mandarin Goby is getting closer to finished (the colors I’ll add later will be the most fun of all – it’s such a colorful fish!).  I’m also continuing to work on my Blue Heeler, which is not far from done now.  I hope to post an update on him soon.

The Goby, here, is really challenging me at every turn.  Between the elaborate patterns and the unusual subject matter, I’m really having quite a time of things.  I think it’s healthy to push the boundaries and try new things.

In addition to using my trusty X-Acto blade, I’m also using a fiberglass brush now (pictured below).  It’s good for soft, even textures.

677

Here are the next three stages of the WIP.  Finally, with all his fins in place, he is starting to look more like a fish.  The next update I post on this WIP may well have color, so stay tuned.

1.

1.

2.

2.

3.

3.

Thank you for looking! 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2014 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Mandarin Goby WIP 3

  1. Mary

    June 12, 2014 at 8:38 AM

    Lovely work.

     
    • Jenna

      June 12, 2014 at 11:00 AM

      Thanks, Mary!

       

Leave a Reply

 
