RSS

Buddy the Blue Heeler WIP 4

12 Jun

This drawing will soon be winding down to the finish.  This one has truly been a joy to draw.  In addition to the stippling technique, I’ve started to add fine lines and strokes to suggest the thicker, longer fur on his neck and chest.  I’m working on the collar as well, and using short hatching strokes for the leather instead of stipple.

As you can see, it’s getting fairly close to done now that there is some contrast throughout the chest, neck and shoulder areas.  More contrast needs to be added, and some other little things here and there, and I think this will be about done.

Thank you for looking! 🙂

1.

1.

2.

2.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2014 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Buddy the Blue Heeler WIP 4

  1. Mary

    June 13, 2014 at 8:32 AM

    Wonderful drawing!

     
    • Jenna

      June 13, 2014 at 11:45 AM

      Thank you so much, Mary! I’m happy you like it. 🙂

       
  2. tedgiffin

    June 14, 2014 at 1:12 AM

    I know I could search this but i am going to ask anyway. What is the stippling technique? I have only done two drawings in my entire life that are as built with shades of grey, light, and dark as in this picture of the dog. I also looked at your sketches. What you call a sketch, If i had done in would be considered some kind of masterpiece. I admire your technical prowess. I look at things and try to capture them, limiting my palette, trying to use grey, but I guess I have not the patience to do work like yours. I am happy that there are artist’s like you in the world! thank you!

     
    • Jenna

      June 14, 2014 at 5:30 PM

      Hi Tedgriffin. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments on my drawing!

      Stippling is simply a series of dots made with your pen or pencil (it can also be used in painting, though I’ve not done that much). The technique can also be called pointillism. True, pure stippling is absolutely nothing but dots, though I sometimes add lines for texture for further realism. In my drawing of this dog, I am using ink rather than pencil simply because it’s my personal preference. In my stippled drawings, I use only black ink, but the variation of lights and darks is achieved with how many or few dots I put into certain areas of the drawing. The “gray” areas are sort of an illusion. It is still a series of dots, but the human eye connects them automatically to create a smooth gradient of shading. In the drawing, some places, such as the eye, nose, and black fur, have so many dots that it begins to look like a solid mass. I suppose I should admit that I sort of “cheat” with this and once the ink gets that dense, I’ll often go ahead and use lines or more solid markings to fill the gaps.

      Thank you, once again, for your most flattering and kind words on my artwork. Art is such a passion of mine and it is so good to know that it is appreciated. I like the looseness of your style! You capture such gesture and motion in your artwork, which is a great thing in drawing or sketching.

      Stippling, I’ll admit, does take a lot of patience. This dog, for example, will probably have taken 50 – 70+ hours to complete once it’s done. It is how I like to work though, and I don’t mind spending many hours with each drawing.

      One more thing I’d like to mention. If you’re interested in learning more about drawing or sketching technique (as well as meet some incredibly talented artists), check out WetCanvas.com, which is a wonderful artists’ online community. I’ve learned so much from that forum, and you might love it there too!

      I hope this has answered your questions. Thanks so much! 🙂

       
      • tedgiffin

        June 15, 2014 at 5:53 AM

        Thank you for your lengthy reply. Yes I have heard of pointillism, I had friends that had done that , people who were really inspiring. Thank you for the description of your technique. I am going to reread it, and might even incorporate the technique into what I do. I also will check out WetCanvas.com
        I like wordpress because I get to meet artists,such as yourself,folks from all over the world. It is comforting to know that tons of people can make a living doing what they love! Thank again!

         
      • Jenna

        June 15, 2014 at 11:44 AM

        I’m glad the reply was helpful. 🙂 A friend of mine first suggested stippling several years ago. Up until then, I had done mostly graphite drawings in a more traditional style. But stippling quickly became my new favorite. I still use other techniques sometimes, but stippling in pen and ink has become my favorite.

        I hope you give the technique a try. It’s a lot of fun! I’m glad to hear you’ll look into WetCanvas. The things you can learn and the friends you can make makes the forum one of the greatest places. I am there every day. Enjoy!

         

Leave a Reply

 
