RSS

Jana’s Sheep

10 Jul

I have been keeping from posting this drawing for some time now.  A very good friend of mine, (check out her amazing knitting blog! ) and I decided we’d enjoy doing an art swap.  So we both did an artwork in secret and then exchanged the drawings by mail.  We then had a Skype chat so we could exchange them face-to-face, as we live a long way from each other.  What fun that was!

She did the most amazing watercolor painting of a flock of sheep grazing on a lush, grassy field beside the ocean.  I am so thrilled to have this beautiful painting.  It is spectacular!  Thank you, Jana! 🙂 🙂

Jana kindly gave me permission to post her wonderful painting, so I’m going to do it so you all can see how great it is!

 

Jana's Painting

Isn’t it just beautiful?  It’s so serene and peaceful.  The colors are even more vibrant in real life.

Here is what I did for the swap.  My friend, I think, likes this drawing so I am very glad for that.  It was such a fun swap!

Jana’s Sheep

– The drawing is 5×7 inches and drawn on Strathmore gray tinted Pastel Paper, if I recall correctly.

– I used Faber-Castell Pitt Artist pens for this, mainly the brush tip size of various grays and blacks.  For the wool, I made some vague, light colored marks with my pen and then finished it by using a very sharp white charcoal pencil to pull off the fuzzy, abstract look of the sheep’s wool.

Jana's Sheep CR

Thanks for looking!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2014 in All Artwork, Charcoal Drawings, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Jana’s Sheep

  1. janukke

    July 12, 2014 at 3:17 AM

    Hi Jenna, you are very welcome! 🙂 I think I made a great deal. 🙂 Thanks for that super cute sheep with that extremely fluffy fur. I love it.
    And thanks for not mentioning that it took me a year to keep up with my end of the exchange. 😉

     
    • Jenna

      July 14, 2014 at 10:57 AM

      Hi Jana. Thanks! I think we both won with this trade! I had such fun with it, and I adore the painting you did for me. Now I wish I had posted your painting too, for people to see and admire! No worries. It was truly worth the wait! 🙂

       
      • janukke

        July 15, 2014 at 4:48 AM

        Yes, we both won. 🙂 You are welcome to show my painting, I´d be honored. It was a great deal of fun, wasn´t it?

         
      • Jenna

        July 15, 2014 at 10:53 AM

        Thanks Jana! I think I’m going to edit this post so people can admire your beautiful painting too! It sure was a lot of fun! 🙂

         
  2. Jocelyne

    July 12, 2014 at 6:15 PM

    Another great and amazing drawing Jenna. I’m so impressed at how the wool look so real
    and how you could perfectly render the perception of thickness. It’s a wonderful drawing !

     
    • Jenna

      July 14, 2014 at 10:58 AM

      Thank you, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like it. The wool was actually quite fun with its fluffy, cloud-like textures. I enjoyed this one a lot! 🙂

       
  3. Sara

    July 14, 2014 at 10:16 AM

    So beautiful. You are very talented

     
    • Jenna

      July 14, 2014 at 11:02 AM

      Hi Sara. Thank you so much! 🙂

       
  4. Jocelyne

    August 2, 2014 at 9:59 AM

    That’s funny ? I was looking at this post and thought how wonderful and beautiful the painting of your friend Jana is and was going to comment when I saw I already commented on this post but didn’t say a thing about her painting. It’s a really beautiful painting, wow she is very talented too ! You say she has a knitting blog but is she posting photos of her paintings too ? How fun it must have been to do this art swap together ! You are two very talented artists 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      August 2, 2014 at 4:44 PM

      Hi Jocelyne,

      Oops, I should have mentioned that I added the image of Jana’s beautiful painting after making this post. I wanted to make sure she wouldn’t mind my sharing it here first. So it was not there the first time you commented. I am glad you came back to look again, because she is very talented indeed! She is a great painter, isn’t she? She prefers knitting to painting, so that’s primarily what she shares at her blog. She is a masterful knitter! She designs and makes the most amazing things with her knitting. You should check out her blog. It is amazing what she can do! The swap was a great deal of fun. Thanks for the nice comments. 🙂

       
      • Jocelyne

        August 2, 2014 at 4:58 PM

        Yes I’ll check her blog 🙂

         
  5. Diane Mohammadioun

    October 27, 2016 at 5:25 PM

    Ok how could I get you to draw me two ! Sheep .. Like bigger then 5/7 like 12 / 12 or something …. I like the one single one and then another one … Different in composition but sheep … Would that be possible

     
    • Jenna

      October 27, 2016 at 10:18 PM

      Hi Diane,

      Thanks for leaving a comment here on my blog! I’ve just sent you an email with information about drawing sheep for you. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
