RSS

Mandarin Goby – Finished!

15 Jul

I am glad to say I’ve finally finished this beautiful, colorful fish called a Mandarin Goby or Mandarin Fish.  It was a genuine challenge from start to finish.  Between striving to get smooth, silky textures for the skin and trying to mix colors to look as it does in real life, this kept me thinking and guessing all the way through.

I will admit that it’s not my favorite of my drawings, and that for the time being, I’m not even sure I like it that much, but it’s finished anyway, and I think it will grow on me eventually.  Not that I don’t like it…but it was just such a vastly different subject matter than what I’m used to.

It’s been interesting. 🙂

Mandarin Goby

– 8×10 inch Ampersand scratchboard

– I used a #11 X-Acto knife, a wide-blade scratchboard tool (not sure of the technical name), and a small fiberglass brush for this.

– Colored with Ampersand Inks, which were applied with very small paintbrushes.  The inks were heavily diluted in water and applied in numerous layers, making the fish more and more vibrant with each of the dozen or so layers of color.  Corrections were made with a Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Brush Tip pen.

Mandarin Goby WIP 9 FINISHED CR

Thank you for following along!  The views, likes, and especially, the comments mean so much to me! 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2014 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Mandarin Goby – Finished!

  1. writingbolt

    July 15, 2014 at 11:22 AM

    I’d say you did just fine. I see no defects.

    Why did you draw/compose it if you did not want to? Class assignment? Friend challenge?

    I appreciate the detailed explanation of your process…though all of it is foreign to me.

     
    • Jenna

      July 15, 2014 at 1:56 PM

      Thanks so much, writingbolt! That’s a really good question. I saw a Mandarin Goby once absolutely loved the beauty of the fish. I felt doing something out of the ordinary to push my comfort zone a little bit. It was a healthy challenge. 🙂

      Thanks so much for the nice comments.

       
      • writingbolt

        July 15, 2014 at 4:18 PM

        Indeed, a healthy challenge. Though, being as knowledgeable of the medium you used, I imagine it would be far less of a challenge than if you told me to follow those instructions to do it myself. I was wondering if it wasn’t an Indian ink scratch piece or pastels on black board..or…? any number of possibilities.

        Welcome.

         
      • Jenna

        July 16, 2014 at 5:29 PM

        Thanks again. I’m actually fairly new to scratchboard. I more often do pen and ink. The two methods of drawing are similar in some ways though, so it works out well. 🙂

         
  2. Cassie Bouska

    July 16, 2014 at 10:26 AM

    I like it! Great job getting that yellow to stay vibrant. (I have such a terrible time with yellow)

     
    • Jenna

      July 16, 2014 at 5:30 PM

      Thanks so much, Cassie! Yellows are hard in any medium, aren’t they? Even yellow walls are hard to paint over in a house, haha! I’m glad you like my fish. Thanks again!

       
  3. Jo Castillo

    July 16, 2014 at 10:31 PM

    Jenna, this is so vibrant. I love the colors. Nice job.

     
    • Jenna

      July 18, 2014 at 8:20 PM

      Hi Jo. Thank you so much! I am glad you like this. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
