RSS

Rocky Mountain Horse

06 Aug

I am gearing up for an art show this Saturday, so I have been really busy trying to gear up for that.  But I wanted to make a new post here too, so here is my newest sculpture (one of several to be posted here soon).  Late one night, I was trying to think of some fresh idea for my horse sculptures.  I was struggling to think of any new poses, but then I remembered that a few breeds of horses are chocolate brown with gorgeous silver or flaxen manes.  I looked into it and found some breathtaking images of the Rocky Mountain Horse.  Granted, the Rocky Mountain Horse doesn’t usually have such high white socks, but despite that, I decided that’s what I’ll call this sculpture.  The clear, bright silver chain of the mane and tail were a fun, sort of whimsical twist against the dark annealed wire I used for the body.  It was a fun one. 🙂

Rocky Mountain Horse

– Measures approximately 8 inches long by just over 7 inches tall by 2 1/2 inches wide.

– I used 17 gauge silver wire for the base of the horse, as well as the legs.  I did this because the silver wire is stronger and less flexible than the dark wire, and holds its shape better.  I then used 16 gauge dark annealed (blackish-brown) wire to go over the silver frame.  Once the horse was bulked up enough with the dark wire, I used some 19 gauge dark annealed wire for the muzzle and legs for finer details.  Finally, I used very, very fine (26 gauge I think) black wire to attach the ears, mane and tail.

– The ears are little leaf pendants that seemed to fit this horse.

– Mane and tail are made from lengths of various chain.  Just picture me with lengths of scrap necklaces and chains, prying them into pieces with a pair of pliers, and then reassembling them with jump rings.

– If you look closely, you’ll notice I’ve put a few small feather embellishments into the mane and tail for some Western flair.

I hope you like it.  Thank you for looking. 🙂

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2014 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Rocky Mountain Horse

  1. Mary

    August 7, 2014 at 8:03 AM

    Incredible work – beautiful piece of art.

     
    • Jenna

      August 7, 2014 at 7:00 PM

      Thank you, Mary! I appreciate the kind comments very much!

       
  2. Jo Castillo

    August 7, 2014 at 11:54 AM

    This is super fine! Good luck with the show.

     
    • Jenna

      August 7, 2014 at 7:01 PM

      Hi Jo! Thank you! So nice to see you come visit my blog. I appreciate it. Thanks for the good luck too! 🙂

       
  3. Lauren Chapman

    August 10, 2014 at 2:48 PM

    Oh wow this is so clever! Love the end result 🙂 just followed x

     
    • Jenna

      August 11, 2014 at 11:59 AM

      Thanks so much, Lauren! I appreciate it. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
