RSS

A Pig, a Peacock, and a Giraffe

07 Sep

The title sounds like the start of some lame joke, doesn’t it?  Here’s the thing, I’ve done quite a few new sculptures, and I just haven’t had the time to make a post for each one, so I’m doing a big bundle of sculptures in one post.  I hope you don’t mind. 🙂  So, let’s start with…

Giraffe

A friend of mine once generously sent me a box of “junk”, embellishments, buttons, beads, and etc.  In this delightful package of goodies were a stash of wood beads.  The more I looked at these beads, the more I could picture those stubby horns that giraffes have on their heads, so I went along with the idea and this is what came of it.

– Made with 17 gauge steel fencing wire, as well as finer wire for the face and for attaching embellishments.

– I used numerous embellishments for this one.  The wooden beads, as mentioned before, made great horns.  I used beads from an old necklace for the sort of oval ears (it was no easy trick attaching these beads either – wire, glue, finesse, and luck were all needed to get them in place).  The mane is a twinkly beaded chain, the same as I used for my draft horse sculpture, if you remember.  It seemed to suit this giraffe nicely.  The tail has a short length of chain to animate it a little bit.

– Measures 8 inches long by nearly 11 inches tall by 2 1/2 inches wide.

Peacock

I’m not sure how many of you have seen a peacock in real life.  There is an exceptional beauty living at a local wildlife park.  I’ve seen him a couple of times this year, and have many photos of him.  What a display they have when they fan their feathers!

– Made primarily with 17 gauge steel fencing wire, as well as finer wire for the details of the head and for attaching the tail feathers.

– I used random pieces from a necklace for the tail feathers, and a metal gear embellishment (which I cut down to the right shape) for the crest feathers.

– Measures 3 inches long by 3 1/2 inches tall by 4 inches wide.

 

And finally, we have the pig.

Pig

I’ve been doing a lot of pig sculptures lately.  There’s something charming about the stout little humble creatures, isn’t there?

– Made with 17 gauge steel fencing wire, as well as finer wire for the face and tail.

– The leaf pendants I used on my original pig sculpture seemed so right for pig’s ears, so I used some more for this lady.  Yes, I think this is a lady pig. 🙂  The nose is a pink button, and the tail is simply wire wrapped and shaped.

– Measures 7 1/2 inches long by 3 1/2 inches tall by 2 1/4 inches wide.

I hope you like these three sculptures.  Thanks for looking!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2014 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “A Pig, a Peacock, and a Giraffe

  1. Jocelyne

    September 8, 2014 at 2:14 PM

    The leaves for the pig’s ears are perfect and the button for the nose too !! These sculptures are all very beautiful, I can’t believe how creative you are ! It’s always great to know what you use to create your sculptures. I think my favourite is the giraffe 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      September 9, 2014 at 11:56 AM

      Hi Jocelyne. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! Those leaf pendants have been in my junk stash for a long time. When I bought them, I never thought pig ears, but it worked out well. 🙂 I appreciate your kind comments very much! Thanks again – the giraffe was a fun change. 🙂

       
  2. Mary

    September 9, 2014 at 8:31 AM

    Wow this is incredible works for art – loving seeing what you do with your sculptures.

     
    • Jenna

      September 9, 2014 at 11:56 AM

      Mary, thank you so much! I appreciate the comments! 🙂

       
  3. janukke

    September 11, 2014 at 6:50 AM

    I enjoy your “junk” animals so much, Jenna! It amazes me each time how you can make these scrap pieces of old metal look so animated and simply beautiful. I want to see that giraffe grase on the top of trees and the peacock strut around and the pig sqeak and jump (don´t ask about the last one). 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      September 11, 2014 at 6:16 PM

      Thank you so much, Jana. I appreciate that! I’m so glad you think they look animated – that’s always my goal. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
