RSS

Oscar, 1946 Commission

04 Oct

I have been keeping this drawing under my hat, as it was a commissioned piece, and I wanted my client to see it first.  This is a portrait she hired me to draw of her dad.  I am pleased to say that she liked the result.  Thank you, Clarice, for the pleasure of drawing your dad.  It was an honor. 🙂

This drawing, like the others in my Ancestry Art, is done on gray paper with pen and ink and white charcoal.  I like the feel of this combination, as it lends age to the drawings, making them seem classic and timeless like the wonderful photos I’ve worked from.

Oscar, 1946

– 5×7 inches on Strathmore Artagain tinted paper

– Drawn with Prismacolor Fine Line markers (sizes .005, .01, and .03).  Once the darks were put into the drawing, I brightened up the light spots with white charcoal.

Click to view this larger.

Oscar, 1946 WIP 9 FINISHED CR

Here is a short video showing the step-by-step progression of the drawing.

https://thecozyred.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/oscar-wip.wmv

If you’d like your ancestors remembered and honored in a drawing, check out my Ancestry Art page, and feel free to contact me at indee.artist.jen88@Hotmail.com.

Thanks for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2014 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Oscar, 1946 Commission

  1. Clarice S. Laehn

    October 6, 2014 at 6:53 AM

    Thank you Jenna ..this portrait of my Dad is awesome..the detail is simply amazing & you have caught the image of my Dad perfectly. I came from a large family & I am proud to say my Dad actually came here from Norway, as did my Mom. We had a close family & Dad was a inspiration to me & my siblings. There were 11 of us & we were so blessed to have parents that taught us to be strong but still so much love & laughter in our home. I am so glad I met you & THANK YOU again, I will always treasure this picture.

     
    • Jenna

      October 6, 2014 at 9:44 AM

      Hi Clarice,

      Thank you for coming by to comment on this drawing. It pleases me so much that you feel this captures your dad’s likeness. Above all, that was my biggest goal, so that is so good to hear. It was such a pleasure to meet you too, and to learn a bit about your big family. You are very welcome! It was great fun to draw this for you. Thanks again! 🙂

       
  2. Jocelyne

    December 17, 2014 at 3:32 PM

    Really beautiful Jenna ! It’s amazing how the white brightens up everything !
    It was fun to see the progression of the drawing in the video 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      December 17, 2014 at 10:14 PM

      Hi Jocelyne. So good to hear from you! 🙂 Thanks so much for the wonderful comments. I love adding white to gray-paper drawings. The icing on the cake! I am glad you like this and that you enjoyed the video.

       

Leave a Reply

 
