RSS

Norman on Red

08 Oct

Some of you may remember my new house cat, Norman.  He’s been in the house for just over a year now, and is a wonderful – if sometimes naughty! – cat.  I adore this guy, and he’s such a charmer.  He’s got the wimpiest, squeakiest little voice of any cat I know, and he loves to play and roughhouse with my other wonderful cat, Oliver.  Oliver is over ten years old now, and he and Norman are…for the most part…great buddies.  They play and tumble and wrestle every day, and even are willing to share toys and blankets and beds.

So since I’m currently working on a scratchboard of Oliver, I got the bug to do an art piece inspired by Norman.  For as regal and stately as Oliver is, Norman is the clown with his antics and his silly little face.

I don’t often paint…almost never, really.  Maybe once or twice per year.  But that once or twice a year, I simply must paint.  Acrylics are my usual choice in painting mediums, so this is an acrylic painting.  I mixed gel into the paints for some whimsical textures.  Norman is whimsical, after all!

Norman on Red

– 8×10 inch stretched canvas.

– Painted with acrylic paints mixed with gel to add gloss and texture.

– Paint was applied mostly with knives, although I used brushes for some details such as the eyes, nose, and whiskers.

Norman Painting - CopyCR

This was a fun change from my usual detailed stuff.  I hope you like it too.  Thanks for looking! 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 8, 2014 in All Artwork, Paintings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
