RSS

The Bumblebee

27 Oct

Shockingly, I forgot to post this wire/junk sculpture.  I made it quite a while ago, and how I never got around to posting it, I don’t know.

When I buy old, broken and discarded jewelry, I often buy big bags-full of it for a good price if I can.  It’s much better than buying new “fake old” embellishments at art and craft stores, because you never know what you’ll find in bags bulging with tangled chains, jewelry, and so on.  In one of these big bags full of junk jewelry was this large plastic flower pin.  It was a bit time-worn, a bit gaudy, and I just didn’t know that I could use a piece like this.

As you can see, it found a home.  The pin is probably about 2 inches across, and I decided to just let the flower be a flower rather than try to incorporate it into anything else.  I used wire to make the stem and leaf, and attached it to a furniture foot base, which I painted a sunny yellow.  The addition of the bumblebee came to me after the flower was made, and I wanted him to be one of those chubby, adorable bees that dip in and out of flower gardens all day long.

Bumblebee

– Made with 17 gauge steel wire, finer craft wire in silver, black, and gold for the bee.  I also used a furniture leg/foot for the base, and of course, the bright orange flower pin.

– I did not remember to measure this, but I believe the bee itself was about 1 1/2 – 2 inches long, and the whole sculpture probably measures approximately 8 inches tall.  That’s just a guess. 🙂

As you see, Norman made it into the photo shoot.

Thanks for looking! 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2014 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Bumblebee

  1. Baaps

    October 27, 2014 at 2:15 PM

    Great Sculpture, I love the creativity used 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      October 27, 2014 at 2:21 PM

      Hi Baaps. Thank you so much! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
