RSS

Elephant (sculpture commission)

31 Oct

A friend of mine recently commissioned me to make an elephant as a gift for her friend.  This is the second time I was commissioned to make a sculpture, so that is very exciting.  I had never made an elephant sculpture before, so this was a really nice change of pace.  Thanks for letting me do this for you, Jo.  It was a joy! 🙂

Elephant

– Measures 6 1/2 inches long by 4 inches tall by 2 3/4 inches wide.

– Made primarily with 17 gauge steel fencing wire, along with 22 gauge wire, and craft wire for details and embellishment attachment.

– Found items used on this include a thick, heavy chain for the trunk, a hoop earring broken in two for the tusks, and a butterfly brooch, also broken in two, for the ears.  I used a bit of chain for that tiny tuft at the end of the tail as well.

I hope you like this.  Thanks for looking!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2014 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Elephant (sculpture commission)

  1. Baaps

    October 31, 2014 at 3:04 PM

    This looks Fantastic! Things like this on WordPress makes me so glad to be able to be on here. Very creative 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      October 31, 2014 at 10:35 PM

      Hi Baaps. Thank you so much for the nice comments. WordPress is a great way to stay in touch with all sorts of amazing artists and writers, isn’t it? Thanks again. Very kind of you! 🙂

       
  2. Mary

    October 31, 2014 at 8:24 PM

    Love this one!

     
    • Jenna

      October 31, 2014 at 10:36 PM

      Hi Mary,

      Thank you so much for the great comments! 🙂

       
  3. Jo Castillo

    November 5, 2014 at 12:10 PM

    Well, I love the elephant. So much that I have it on the table with my collection and it looks wonderful there. 🙂 I will have to get another for my friend or let her come steal it! It is beautiful. It is heavier than I thought it would be, very elephant-like. Ha.

     
    • Jenna

      November 6, 2014 at 5:25 PM

      Hi Jo. It’s so nice of you to come and comment on this post. I am so happy you like your elephant! It makes me smile that you’ve decided to keep this for yourself. The weight of these sculptures is a nice bonus. I like the heaviness of the steel wire…I don’t do much with aluminum wire anymore because they feel kind of flimsy by comparison. Thanks so much for the kind comments!

       
  4. Jocelyne

    December 17, 2014 at 4:31 PM

    I’m always impressed by your sculptures and this one is no exception. You always find the perfect metal piece or jewelry to add to them, like the brooch for his ears which is a superb match and simply perfect ! You are good and very talented 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      December 17, 2014 at 10:32 PM

      Thanks, Jocelyne! Finding the right embellishments for sculptures is my favorite part. I typically find the embellishments before I begin the wire work. Once I have the found items, I lay them out in a way that helps me visualize the finished animal. It’s great fun! Thanks so much for the great comments. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
