RSS

Daily Archives: November 23, 2014

And Now for Something Different – Food!

Dear readers, I don’t have anything new to post quite yet.  The Christmas drawing is complete, but that must remain a secret until Christmas!  I have several art projects going, a wire sculpture, a junk sculpture that has been a long time in the making, and an upcoming commission of a Blue Heeler, hooray!  But until I have some new work to post, I didn’t want things to get too quiet here, so I thought I would share something different.

A few weeks ago, I was in a delightful restaurant called Bubba Gump Shrimp, and as it was my first time there, I agonized over what to order, as everything appealed to me.  I finally settled on “…Of Course We Have Scampi!”.  It was one of the most delicious things I have ever ordered in a restaurant.  I couldn’t believe the explosion of rich, savory flavors.  Almost as soon as I got home, I knew I wanted to try to make it myself, but of course, I had no idea where to start.  I looked online and found a website with a very close recipe.  The author of that site, it seems, was just as impressed with the restaurant item as I was.  She worked very hard to make a recipe that was very close to the restaurant’s dish, and she kindly shared it; you can check out here.  I printed the recipe and went to town to buy all the ingredients, such as capers, shrimp, linguine, and so on.

Once I had all the ingredients, and gave myself a few days of mental preparation, I decided to just cook it.  It was a fairly involved recipe, at least for me, but it was quite a fun experience!  I think it turned out quite well, and though it wasn’t the greatest hit in this house, I liked it very much myself.  It tasted very much like what I had in the restaurant.  It was extremely rich, full of butter and garlic, and very different from what I normally cook, but it sure felt great to break the mold!

I do think it was a very pretty dish, and I couldn’t resist taking some photos of it.

So that’s all I have to share at the moment.  I hope to have some art to post soon.  Meanwhile, I hope you enjoy this “pasta” post.  Again, if you’d like to get the recipe, check out the site in the link above.

Thanks for looking. 🙂

Shrimp Scampi

Shrimp Scampi

Shrimp Scampi

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2014 in Odds and Ends (Uncategorized)

 

Tags: , , , , ,