RSS

Shelby the Blue Heeler, Commission WIP

13 Dec

Hello there,

After a long span of time since my last post, I finally have some art to share here on my blog.

I am working on a new commission of a pretty Blue Heeler by the name of Shelby.  She is friends with Buddy, whom I had the pleasure of drawing some time ago.  This drawing had a bit of a bumpy start, as I had some trouble getting the graphite preliminary sketch to look correct (it’s still so-so), but today, I realized I have to stop second-guessing myself and just start with the ink already.  What you’re seeing is the ear.  Shelby’s face is mostly black, with some gray markings, so I really need to push the values on this drawing.  I’m enjoying it very much.

This drawing is essentially a series with Buddy, so the crop and “feel” of the drawing will be very similar.  This is 8×10 inches, and I’m using Strathmore 500 series Bristol Plate paper.  It is amazing paper, by the way.  So strong and smooth – perfect for applying a lot of ink (…or for erasing many mistakes… 😉 ).  I’m using a different kind of pen this time, Sakura Pigma Micron Pens, which are a little inkier and slightly warmer in color than my usual Prismacolors.  I like them for the most part, though the flow of ink can be a little intimidating for a detail freak like me.  However, they work very well for Shelby, since she’s got such dark coloring.

I hope you will follow along with this WIP, and feel free to leave a comment if you wish.  Thank you for looking.  I hope you’re all having a good Christmas season. 🙂

Shelby WIP 2 - CR

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2014 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Shelby the Blue Heeler, Commission WIP

  1. Cassie Bouska

    December 16, 2014 at 11:00 PM

    Youve got SO MUCH patience! Im sure this will turn out as amazing as your other pieces :). Merry Christmas!

     
    • Jenna

      December 17, 2014 at 10:12 PM

      Thanks for the nice comment, Cassie. That’s very kind of you. 🙂 I do enjoy taking my time with drawings…though I wish I could work a bit faster and turn out more drawings per year. Oh well. 😉 Thanks again, and a Merry Christmas to you, too!

       
  2. Jocelyne

    February 5, 2015 at 8:47 AM

    When I see a sketch like this I realize even more the great talent you have !

     
    • Jenna

      February 7, 2015 at 5:47 PM

      Thanks so much, Jocelyne. That’s so kind of you to say. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
