RSS

Merry Christmas!

25 Dec

Merry Christmas, dear readers!

As is my tradition, here is my annual Christmas drawing, and the finished Christmas card.

I’ve dedicated this drawing to my wonderful, creative aunt Diane, who, sadly, passed away last October.  I miss her so much that I almost skipped making a Christmas drawing this year because my heart was so heavy.  She died about the time I was planning to start this drawing.  But I decided to do the very best I could, because she was a great encourager of my artwork, and she would have been sad if she knew I wanted to skip my annual Christmas card drawing.  As you can see in the photo below, she loved getting my Christmas cards, and displayed them at her house every year.

Peterson Christmas 008 - Copy

This year’s drawing was quite involved and detailed, and those of you who follow my blog know how much I enjoy details in drawing.

The Magi

– 8×10 inches in size, drawn on Strathmore 500 series Bristol Plate paper.

– Drawn with Sakura Pigma Micron Pens, varying in size from 005 (primarily), 01, and 03.  I haven’t used these pens much, but the ink is a bit warmer, and it flows quickly from the tip, which is nice for deep darks, though it can feel a bit out of control sometimes.  But the quick darks that can be achieved make them a delight to use.

Magi 10 FINISHED CR

Here is the finished card.  We did something different this year by choosing to print the drawing on parchment paper, which really warmed it up nicely.

Christmas Card 2014 Face CR

Continuing with our tradition, my mom and I put our heads together to make the cards.  In the end, as usual, we are happy with the result, and though they require a lot of work, they are worth it.

The inside of the card.  The left side has the lyrics of the hymn “Come Thou Long-Expected Jesus”, and the right side has a message that we created ourselves with some inspiration from other sources.

Christmas Card 2014 InsideCR

And here is the back.  In memory of Diane.

Christmas Card 2014 Back

Merry Christmas, dear readers.  Thank you for looking.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Merry Christmas!

  1. janukke

    December 28, 2014 at 11:16 AM

    Oh that card is amazing! I love the motif, it´s beautiful. And yes, very detailed. 😉 I am sure your aunt would have loved this card a lot.

     
    • Jenna

      December 29, 2014 at 12:01 PM

      Thanks so much, Jana! I appreciate it. 🙂 Yes, I think Diane would have liked this card, too. Thanks again for the kind comments!

       
  2. Jocelyne

    February 5, 2015 at 8:40 AM

    I’m so sorry for your loss Jenna. She passed away too soon.
    The drawing is amazing, another demonstration of your great talent.
    It’s really beautiful on the parchment paper. You did a wonderful job with your mom 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 7, 2015 at 5:47 PM

      Thank you for the kind words, Jocelyne. I miss Diane very much, and it is still so strange to think she is gone.

      I am happy you like the drawing and the card! It was one of my more popular cards (according to the response it got with friends and family), so that was great. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
