RSS

Shelby the Blue Heeler Commission WIP 3

17 Jan

I guess I am a little late to be wishing you all a Happy New Year!  I’ve had a very busy Christmas/New Year season, and have not had much time for art, so my blog has been quiet.

But I’m back now with an update on Shelby.  I took a bit of a break from this drawing over Christmas, but now, I am back on track and working at it again.  Just yesterday, I finally drew the second eye, and now that Shelby has both ears and both eyes, I do feel that she looks more balanced.  Her black “mask” marking is a bit slower to draw because it’s so black, and takes a lot of dots to get dark enough.  I don’t mind that a bit, though.  I’ve also began working some contrast into the whites on her face, which are a bit freckled and smoke-colored in the photos I have of her.  Today, I’ve started on her mouth, but I haven’t gotten far enough to warrant another updated image.  So stay tuned.  More updates are on the way!

Shelby WIP 7 - Copy CR Shelby WIP 8 - Copy CR

Thank you for looking.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2015 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Shelby the Blue Heeler Commission WIP 3

  1. Catherine

    January 18, 2015 at 6:28 PM

    Jen.. the blue is comming to life. Your sense of depth and value is awesome.

    Do you ever pick up the oils?

     
    • Jenna

      January 20, 2015 at 11:36 AM

      Hi Catherine.

      Thanks so much for the wonderful comments! I really appreciate it. 🙂

      I haven’t done much with oils for a couple of years. I do enjoy painting sometimes, but my heart is always pulled back to drawing. Maybe someday I’ll get into oil painting. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
