RSS

Lion

20 Jan

After taking a little break from my wire sculptures, I have finally finished one.  I was moments from falling asleep one night, when I suddenly could picture a lion sculpture.  Some time ago, I bought a package of little metal medallions that I just couldn’t resist.  Luckily, it was a jumbo-sized package, and I must have gotten a couple hundred of these little things.  As I lay there, half-asleep, I suddenly pictured a lion sculpture with a mane made up from these little pieces.  Here is the result.

Lion

– Made with 17 gauge steel fencing wire, gold-colored chain for the tail and the base of the mane, and probably more than a hundred of these “coin” pieces I bought.  I attached each coin – painstakingly! – with jump rings.  Thanks to the time taken to attach each piece individually, this may be the slowest wire sculpture I’ve made to date.  It was a labor of love, though.  The ears (they are small and don’t show up until you look a little closer) are made with little metal gears.

– Measures approximately 9 1/2 inches long (from tip of the nose to tip of the tail) by 4 1/2 inches tall by 2 1/2 inches wide.

To any fellow doo-dad, thingamajig lovers out there, I must say that this lion, thanks to all those metal coins in his mane, jingles delightfully when he is moved.  I just wanted to make that known. 🙂

As usual, one of my cats has made it into the photo shoot.  Her name is Joplin, and she feels she is very photogenic, so I thought I’d snap two photos…one focusing on the lion, and the other focusing on her.  I’m sure Joplin thinks she is the lion.

Lion sculpture finished 032 - Copy Lion sculpture finished 031 - Copy

I hope you like my little lion sculpture (and the cat 🙂 ).  Thanks for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2015 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Lion

  1. Alexis Borenheim

    March 29, 2015 at 4:01 PM

    Wow! I have thought about doing something like this, but never tried. Such an amazing piece!

     
    • Jenna

      April 1, 2015 at 11:39 AM

      Hi Alexis. Thank you so much for the nice comment. You should give wire sculpture a try! It is really fun. 🙂

       
  2. Forest Edge Studio

    May 17, 2015 at 7:56 PM

    So creative and unique! You have a lot of patience and it pays off!

     
    • Jenna

      May 18, 2015 at 8:17 AM

      Thanks very much, Forest Edge Studio! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
