RSS

Shelby the Blue Heeler Commission WIP 6

03 Feb

Hello readers,

I’ve done a fair amount of work on Shelby since my last post.  The areas that I’ve been working on seem a little less exciting than those facial features, so I thought I’d wait until there was more progress to share.  Since my last update, I’ve gone over the entire drawing and really made those darks pop, as this is the darkest coloring I’ve done on a dog.  I’ve thickened up the fur along the left side of her head, and am now working my way down her neck and shoulder.  All of these random chunks of fur feel very abstract…as I draw, I tend to feel like what I’m drawing looks nothing like fur, but in the end, it kind of pans out.  I got a start on her collar today, as well.  It’s coming along, and I’m enjoying this drawing very much.

Shelby WIP 12 CR Shelby WIP 13 CR

Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2015 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Shelby the Blue Heeler Commission WIP 6

  1. Jocelyne

    February 5, 2015 at 8:54 AM

    It’s an incredibly beautiful drawing ! I love those darks. Like always, I’m impressed 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      February 7, 2015 at 5:49 PM

      Thank you very much, Jocelyne! The darks have been fun…this drawing has darker blacks than any I’ve done before. It’s been fun getting things really black in places. I feel like I’ve turned a bit of a corner…I want to get deeper contrast in all of my future drawings now. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
