RSS

Jackrabbit

11 Apr

This is the first time I’ve done a sculpture of a rabbit.  In fact, it’s one of the first times I’ve incorporated a rabbit into my art, period.  I’ve obtained a sort of accidental collection of all different metal feather-shaped pendants.  While I expected to use them for bird sculptures, I held up a pair and thought of rabbit ears.  This little guy is the result.  I think I may be making more of these rabbits in the future.

Jackrabbit

– This is a slender little thing, measuring 3 1/2 inches tall by 2 1/2 inches long by 1 inch wide.

– Made with pretty fine steel wire, 22 gauge mostly.  The ears are, as I mentioned, little feather pendants.  The legs are made with little drop pendants I got from a necklace.  I intentionally made the legs small and spindly…I wanted the ears comically large, so I de-emphasized the legs.  The little tail is a white bead held there with wire.

Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2015 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Jackrabbit

  1. Jocelyne

    May 12, 2015 at 9:55 PM

    What a cute sculpture, I love it ! I’m always surprised by your creative eye. I would have looked at these feather pendants and only see a feather or foliage but you could see rabbit ears 🙂
    I love the tail too, it’s a really cute sculpture 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      May 14, 2015 at 5:41 PM

      Hi Jocelyne. Thank you so much for the comments! Since I ended up with a large collection of feather pendants, I have been trying to think outside the box with them. I’m glad you appreciate that! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
