RSS

Draft Horse WIP 5

07 May

At last, I have an update to share.  This horse is slow going…the progress you see here is the result of two or three sittings, and most of my sittings last a couple of hours.  There is so much to pay attention to in this piece…I need to constantly be checking over the whole drawing to make sure all the straps are lining up correctly, and of course, the horse needs some attention, as well. 🙂

Here is where the horse is at this point.  Most of the head is in place at last.  I’ve added the ear and the jawline, and have also filled in the cheek area a little more.

Draft Horse WIP 5 CR

Thanks for looking!  I’m always happy to get a little feedback, so feel free to leave a comment. 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2015 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Draft Horse WIP 5

  1. Mary

    May 8, 2015 at 8:37 PM

    Exquisite work Jenna – it’s wonderful to see your progress. I’m in awe ~

     
    • Jenna

      May 8, 2015 at 10:35 PM

      Hi Mary. Thank you so much for the great comments! 🙂

       
  2. Clarice S. Laehn

    May 12, 2015 at 8:18 AM

    Jenna–this is amazing!! I love seeing your updates on your work!

     
    • Jenna

      May 14, 2015 at 5:51 PM

      Hi Clarice. Thank you so much for the kind comments! I appreciate them very much.

      Congratulations on your retirement! I hope you enjoy it and have opportunity to do the things you love! 🙂

       
  3. Jocelyne

    May 12, 2015 at 10:03 PM

    I really like the straps, the details are amazing on them, I can feel the leather.
    It’s going to be another masterpiece !

     
    • Jocelyne

      May 12, 2015 at 10:09 PM

      When I look at your drawings they look so real, with this one when I look at it I can hear the typical sounds of horses and I can feel the sensation on my hand when I pet them.

       
      • Jenna

        May 14, 2015 at 5:59 PM

        Thank you, Jocelyne. Your comments are so kind. I appreciate it. 🙂 It is great to hear that the leather looks right…I’ve been guessing on what kind of texture to use for it. Thanks again!

         

Leave a Reply

 
