RSS

Rooster

22 May

Surprise!  I’ve been keeping this pen and ink drawing to myself, and now that it’s complete, it is time to share it here.

Whether it’s my farm girl roots or a coincidence, I seem to draw a lot of farm animals.  I love the legacy of farming, and the animals that go along with it are a big reason for that.  Plus, bonus, people seem to love farm animals, be it a horse, cow, pig, goat, dog, cat, duck, or chicken.  Thus, my rooster was a long time coming. 🙂

Rooster

– This drawing measures 5×7 inches, and is drawn on Strathmore 500 series Bristol Plate paper.

– Drawn with Sakura Pigma Micron pens, ranging in size from 005 (primarily), 01, and a tiny touch of 03 for those inky blacks.  When I first used Sakura Pigma Micron pens, I felt they were very inky and a little out-of-control feeling.  However, the rich, warm blacks they produce are unsurpassed by any pen I’ve tried so far, and I have a fair collection of different brands of pens.  These are great!

Rooster WIp Finished - CR

A short video of the work-in-progress.

And a couple of close-up photos.

Rooster WIp Finished - Copy CR

Rooster WIp Finished - Copy (4) CR

I hope you like the drawing.  Thank you for looking! 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2015 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Rooster

  1. Mary

    May 23, 2015 at 11:33 AM

    Wonderful drawing – perfect detailing and love the fluffy feather textures.

     
    • Jenna

      May 23, 2015 at 10:40 PM

      Mary, thank you so much! I had fun with those feathers. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
