RSS

Draft Horse WIP 8

03 Jun

I was looking back in my journal last night and realized that I wrote about the day I started this draft horse drawing…it was way back in February.  Not sure why it’s taking so long with this drawing, but I don’t mind.  Just as long as I can get it done before my upcoming art show in August!

So, what else can I say about this drawing?  The neck is mostly in place, and now I’m working on the leather collar part.  The smooth texture is a bit difficult to get right with my X-Acto knife, so I’m using a fiberglass brush for that.  For anyone unfamiliar with this tool, this is what it looks like.  It’s a sort of fine sandpapery texture that rubs the ink off the scratchboard in a softer way than a blade.

fiberglass brush

I’m not thrilled with the way the leather and fabric looks, but with some more layers, I think it will get better.

Draft Horse WIP 8 - CR

I hope you like it.  Thanks for looking! 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2015 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Draft Horse WIP 8

  1. inari

    June 4, 2015 at 4:50 AM

    Every time I look at this horse it just takes my breath away. It’s stunning. Thanks for explaining the fiberglass brush – your medium and tools are very new to me and its nice to see what you are using 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      June 5, 2015 at 8:37 PM

      Thanks so much, inari! That’s such a wonderful comment, and I appreciate it! I’m glad the explanation of my tools is helpful. I always mean to make a “tools of the trade” page for my blog, so I can simply refer to the tools there when needed. Maybe I should do that… 🙂

       
      • inari

        June 6, 2015 at 2:46 AM

        That’s such a great idea 😀

         
      • Jenna

        June 6, 2015 at 8:17 PM

        Thanks! Maybe I’ll just make that page. 🙂

         
      • Jocelyne

        June 9, 2015 at 11:10 AM

        Yes, a great idea !

         
  2. Jocelyne

    June 9, 2015 at 11:09 AM

    Really beautiful, we can see your great talent deployed with this impressive drawing Jenna.
    There’s so many different textures, the skin of the horse, the hair in his ears, his eye, the leather, the metal, it looks so real, as if the horse is standing in front of me.
    I think I’ll create a board on my Pinterest with drawings from various artists, because I really love this art, is it ok if I pin some of your photos in it ? There’s always a link to the site where the photos comes from. I’ll totally understand if you prefer not to 🙂
    Did you take some photos recently? It would be nice to see them 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      June 9, 2015 at 6:51 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I really appreciate it. Oh, yes! You can certainly put my work on your Pinterest page! I’m always happy to have more people see and enjoy my work, and it means a lot that you like my work enough to want them on your page! Yes, I have some new photos. I should make a post on them soon. I need to make a “tools” page, too. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
