RSS

Andalusian

15 Dec

Dear readers, I finally have something new to post here on my blog.  It has been quite a while since I made a post; the Christmas card has taken up a lot of my time.  I will be posting that on Christmas Eve, so stay tuned. 🙂

I love horses, and I always tend to go back to them in my work. This one was slow in coming together, because I was in need of black chain for the mane and tail. It must not be fashionable to wear black jewelry/chain right now, because I had a very hard time finding any. I spent literally an entire day in town going everywhere I could think of from Michael’s Art store to Maurice’s Clothing. I finally did end up finding some very black chain that worked nicely for this horse. I was surprised it was so hard to find chain in black…last time I checked, it was everywhere. It shows how out of the loop I am as far as the fashion world!

I wanted to try and capture some movement and spirit in the horse, so I have her head turned and her ears angled in an inquisitive gesture. I wanted to make her look kind of playful, and hope that comes through in the sculpture.

Andalusian

– This measures 8 1/4 inches tall by 8 inches long by 4 inches wide.

– Made with 17 gauge steel fencing wire, 19 gauge steel wire, and various smaller gauge wires for attaching embellishments, adding details, and etc. The mane and tail are made of black metal chain, and the embellishments within are leaves from an art store and the small, spear-like pieces attached here and there are from an antique pair of earrings I bought at a garage sale. The ears are “wings” that came in a pack of various pieces I bought.

I hope you like this.  Thank you for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2015 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Andalusian

  1. Mary

    December 15, 2015 at 1:34 PM

    Your work is truly amazing – beautiful sculptures!

     
    • Jenna

      December 15, 2015 at 10:42 PM

      Hi Mary. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. 🙂

       
  2. thepurpledogpaintingblog

    January 2, 2016 at 9:35 PM

    That is amazing. Wow!

     
  3. Jenna

    January 2, 2016 at 10:09 PM

    Hi Virginia. Great to see you on my blog. Thank you so much for the very nice comments!

     

Leave a Reply

 
