RSS

Merry Christmas!

24 Dec

Merry Christmas, dear readers!  I am hoping you have a warm and cheerful season and remember why we celebrate this time every year – because Jesus was sent to save us from our sin.  That is truly the greatest gift of all!

Following my own tradition, I have done another drawing to use for Christmas cards this year.  I started in early October and finished it in mid-December.  It is larger than usual, so it took some real dedication and time to complete.  It also has a full background, which I don’t do too often.  One more factor that made this particular year a challenge is the fact that, aside from a few basic references and inspirations, this is hugely from imagination this year.  Was that ever challenging!  The details were slow coming to me since most of them had to be imagined up first.  It was a very good stretch out of my comfort zone.

Nativity

-Measures 8 x 14 inches.  I happened to have a nice frame of this size, and I really liked the idea of a panoramic shape for this drawing.

-Drawn on Strathmore 500 Series Bristol Plate paper.  I started by making a light but detailed preliminary sketch in graphite.  After several long sittings working on the graphite outline, I began to add ink.  As usual, this is mostly done with stippling, though hatching and some other marks were used, as well.  I used Sakura Pigma Micron pens for this drawing, mostly the tiny 005 size, but a bit of 01 was used, too.

Complete Drawing CR

And here is the finished Christmas card.  My mom and I work so hard on this every year, and it is one of the greatest traditions I can imagine having.  I am so thankful for this tradition!

The card-sized prints we made of my drawing were done in a slight sepia tone so it would draw all the colors of the Christmas card together.  The card has, as usual, several layers of card stocks and papers, and brads hold the banner with John 1:14 on the bottom of the card.

Christmas Card 2015 - CR

And here is the top part of the inside of the card, which is “There’s a Song in the Air” by Josiah G. Holland.

Christmas Card 2015 Top Insert - CR

Here is the lower part of the card, the greeting.

Christmas Card 2015 Lower Insert - CR

And finally, here are some close-ups of my drawing.

Crop - CR

Crop 3 - CR

Crop 2 - CR

I certainly had fun with this, and I hope it will bring all of you some Christmas cheer.  Thank you for looking.  Have a Merry Christmas!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Merry Christmas!

  1. Cassie Bouska

    December 27, 2015 at 12:01 AM

    I love this! Another fabulous work of art!! Merry Christmas to you!

     
    • Jenna

      December 28, 2015 at 1:59 PM

      Hi Cassie. Merry Christmas! Thank you so much for the nice comment. I appreciate it very much!

       
  2. Lenore Busch

    December 27, 2015 at 8:54 AM

    Merry Christmas Jenna. Your art is fantastic as usual. I hope your year ahead is full of love and happiness.

     
    • Jenna

      December 28, 2015 at 1:59 PM

      Hi Lenore. Merry Christmas! Thank you so much for the lovely comments. Thank you for the nice words about the new year – I hope the same is true for you. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
