RSS

Norman WIP

07 Jan

Happy New Year!

It has been quite a while since I’ve had a pen and ink work-in-progress to share, so at last, here is something new.  I’ve been meaning to draw a cat in ink for years.  I’m a cat person, but tend to end up drawing dogs.  Oh, I love dogs, too…but there’s something about the quiet presence of cats that I find so soothing and comforting.

You’ve seen me draw Oliver…twice in fact.  Both times, it was in scratchboard.  I felt it was high time that I draw my other lovely housecat, Norman.  Norman has been my pal for a few years now.  He is a gorgeous tuxedo cat with such beautiful, perfect markings.  He’s stately and beautiful…and yet, he is a complete clown that makes me laugh all the time.  There’s something in his playful actions and wide-eyed expression that makes me think he is just slightly insane.  I love this guy! 🙂

Here is my reference photo of him.

Norm

And here are the first three installments of this WIP.  I started with a pretty detailed graphite outline, and then began with the ink.

This is 8×10 inches in size, and I’m using Strathmore 500 Series Bristol Plate paper.  I’m using Sakura Pigma Micron pens for this.

Norman WIP 2 - CRNorman WIP 3 - CRNorman WIP 4 CR

Thank you for looking!  I hope you’ll follow along in the progress of this drawing.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2016 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Norman WIP

  1. Mary

    January 8, 2016 at 10:23 AM

    Lovely work Jenna, nice use of values – I like seeing the progression of your drawing.

     
    • Jenna

      January 9, 2016 at 5:28 PM

      Hi Mary. Thank you so much! The values are getting there…since Norman is so jet black (no hint of stripes or brown anywhere), I have to really push the darks in this drawing. Thank you. I’m happy you like watching the progress. 🙂

       
  2. Cassie Bouska

    January 10, 2016 at 12:03 PM

    It’s gonna be another amazing piece – I’m SO glad you share your progress … it gets me excited to try to sketch something new!

     
    • Jenna

      January 10, 2016 at 12:53 PM

      Hi Cassie. Thank you so much! It makes me so happy that you enjoy watching the progress. I’m always glad to share my WIP’s. 🙂 I hope you do some sketching now! Thanks for the nice comments.

       

Leave a Reply

 
