RSS

Norman WIP 3

22 Jan

Norman is continuing to shape up.  Not my actual cat, but the drawing, that is.  My cat is currently sitting on my printer, where he doesn’t belong.  I’d tell him to get down but…look at that face!! 😉

Anyway, I’ve gotten the nose, whiskers, cheeks and chin in place, and am working on the shoulder.  Since Norman’s fur is so stark white and deep black, it’s interesting trying to balance the values in this drawing.  The darks need to go further, and the whites are not as bright as my mind tries to tell me.  There’s a lot of shadow in those whites, and I need to keep going back to darken the shadows and keep it looking right.

On a side note, I’m having trouble getting my scanner to work, so I’ve had to settle for photographing the drawing.  I love my camera, don’t get me wrong, but it’s almost impossible to photograph a piece of white paper without getting a shadowy part of discoloration due to tricky lighting.  The details look a little gritty and harsh, unlike the original drawing…  So the photos aren’t the best, but you’ll see how the drawing is coming along, anyway.

Two updates in one post today. 🙂

Norman WIP 6 CRNorman WIP 7 CR

As you might have noticed, there’s a very firm cut-off point on the right.  I’m debating cropping the drawing down to a square format of 8×8 inches instead of the original 8×10.  I think it would be more dramatic that way.  And Norman is very, very dramatic.

Thank you for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2016 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Norman WIP 3

  1. Mary

    January 24, 2016 at 4:33 PM

    I love Norman Jenna!! Wonderful to see the update and I do like 8×8 better than the 8×10 on the drawing.

     
    • Jenna

      January 24, 2016 at 9:34 PM

      Hi Mary. That’s so sweet of you to say, thank you very much! I’m glad you like the 8×8 format, too. I agree; I think it does look better that way. I appreciate the comment. 🙂

       
  2. Paul Edmondson

    December 17, 2016 at 5:57 PM

    Is this all done with dots or are there cross hatches or scrumbling on the darker bits of fur? Love to see a video of your technique.

     
    • Jenna

      December 17, 2016 at 10:19 PM

      Hi Paul,

      Yes, my style is stippling, and my drawings are almost 100% dots. Once in a while, I do add some strokes or lines here and there if I think that kind of texture would improve the feel of the drawing. It is on my to-do list to make a video of my drawing process from start to finish. A few years ago, I did make a short video to show how I work. You can see it in the link. https://thecozyred.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/dachshund-dots-part-three/

      Thanks for leaving a comment! I appreciate it. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
