RSS

Squirrel

15 Feb

If you were to explore my embellishment boxes, you would find many feather-esque pieces.  I’ve used them for “doo-dads” in horse’s manes, I’ve used them for animal ears, I’ve even used them for – you guessed it – feathers on my bird sculptures.

Last fall at Junk Bonanza, I spotted a feather-shaped pin.  This was no ordinary pin.  Picture a feather that you might see being used for a quill pen.  Large and a bit droopy in its shape.  The very moment I spotted this feather, I saw a squirrel tail.  A perfect, bushy squirrel tail.  So I bought it.

Here is the result.

Squirrel

– Measures 5 inches long by 3 & 1/2 inches tall by 2 inches wide.

– This piece is made with…I believe it was some 19 gauge, 22 gauge, 26 gauge, and 30 gauge steel wire.  I’m not completely certain, as it’s been a little while since I made this piece.  The tail is that cool feather pin, and the ears are tiny leaf-shaped pieces that I had on hand.  The squirrel is holding tightly to an acorn, which is an embellishment I purchased at a card-making shop.

I am happy to say that this little fellow sold at my art show earlier this month. 🙂

Thank you for looking!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 15, 2016 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
