RSS

The Basset Case

24 Feb

Hi there,

Here is another of my recent sculptures.  I came across a pair of glitzy, sparkling earrings that were soft and dangly.  They made me think of the giant, supple ears of a basset hound.  So here is what I came up with.

The Basset Case

– Measures 8 inches long by 4 & 1/4 inches tall (at the tail) by 2 inches wide.

– Made with some 17 gauge steel fencing wire, as well as paddle wire of various sizes from 22 – 30 gauge.  The ears are those big, soft, fake-diamond-encrusted earrings. The nose is a rectangle/square-shaped glass bead that I had in my stash.  I debated using that bead as it looked so enormous, but what good is a hound dog without his giant nose? 🙂  I pulled wire through the hole in the center of the bead and “sewed” it onto the end of the dog’s face, wrapping wire until the bead was nested tightly in the wire and the head looked like that of a dog.  The tail is a white glass pendant in the shape of a tusk or tooth.

I hope you like this sculpture.  Thank you for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2016 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Basset Case

  1. Mary

    February 25, 2016 at 9:07 AM

    Beautiful work Jenna – great pose and creativity for the ears!

     
    • Jenna

      February 26, 2016 at 3:36 PM

      Thank you so much, Mary! I appreciate your kind comments on my sculpture. 🙂

       
  2. Jo Castillo

    February 28, 2016 at 8:11 PM

    Jenna, this made my day. So cute and full of life. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Jenna

      February 28, 2016 at 10:09 PM

      Thank you so much for the sweet comments, Jo. It really means a lot. I’m so happy you like my sculpture. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
