RSS

Golden Retriever

30 Mar

A few weeks ago, I was commissioned to make a sculpture of a Golden Retriever.  I had never tried this breed of dog before, so it made for an interesting challenge.  The curled tail, the deep chest, the square-ish muzzle…it was a lot of fun!  Now that my client has received the sculpture, I can share it here with you, dear readers.

Penny – Golden Retriever

– Measures approximately 8 inches long by 5 inches tall by 2 & 1/4 inches wide.

– She’s made primarily with paddle wire, though there is some fencing wire in there, too.  The wire sizes range from 17 to 26 gauge.  The ears are metal leaf pendants, and the nose is a black glass bead.  The collar is real leather from an old purse strap, and the metal tag was a piece from a necklace.  I punched the tag with the letter P for the dog’s name, Penny.

Thank you for looking!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2016 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Golden Retriever

  1. Mary

    March 31, 2016 at 9:47 AM

    Fabulous detailed work – love this Golden Retriever Jenna!

     
    • Jenna

      April 3, 2016 at 12:54 PM

      Thank you so much, Mary! I appreciate the kind comments. 🙂

       
  2. thepurpledogpaintingblog

    April 2, 2016 at 6:51 PM

    Wow! I love this.

     
    • Jenna

      April 3, 2016 at 12:55 PM

      Thank you very much, Virginia! 🙂

       
  3. Jocelyne

    April 10, 2016 at 10:01 PM

    Hi Jenna ! It’s been such a long time, I didn’t post and visit blogs in almost a year. I see you’ve made a lot of sculptures and they are all amazing ! This one is no exception and I always love to see your work. Have a great week adhead 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      April 11, 2016 at 11:12 AM

      Jocelyne, hello! It’s so great to hear from you. I’ve been thinking about you and hoping everything is alright in your world. Thank you so much for taking a moment to leave a comment. It means a lot. I hope you have a great week, too! 🙂

       
      • Jocelyne

        April 12, 2016 at 11:57 AM

        Everything is fine with me Jenna 🙂
        I stopped blogging and visiting blogs because it took too much of my time but maybe I’ll start posting again. I was missing your art ! Have a beautiful day 🙂

         
      • Jenna

        April 15, 2016 at 11:20 AM

        I’m happy to hear all is well with you. Things are going pretty well here, as well. Really lovely weather out there this week, so that’s always great. Time to get my camera out and about with me again. 🙂

        I don’t blame you for taking a break from blogging…it’s a lot of work to keep up with it. Oh, thank you so much! I’m so glad you like my work. Have a great weekend!

         

Leave a Reply

 
