RSS

Summer Adventures with a Macro Lens

30 Sep

I invested in a macro lens some time ago, and though it has taken a long time and a lot of trial and error, I have become steadily more excited about the possibilities that such a lens can provide.  I’ve taken thousands of photos this summer, I’m sure, and a great many of them were with my macro lens.  So I thought I would share a sampling of some of my favorites.  Every photo in this group has some kind of living creature in it…some are hidden very well, so look carefully! 🙂

There are a couple of photos here which were not taken with a macro lens, but they fit in here anyway.  Spiders, bees, weevils, moths, caterpillars, beetles, flies, grasshoppers, and even a Hummingbird Clearwing are among this collection of photos.  A lot of the photos have been cropped to better show the insects.  Unfortunately, I had to resize them as my blog is running low on space.  The original photos are typically much clearer than what you see here, but I wanted to share the pictures anyway.  A particular favorite is the pair of photos of the grasshopper (or possibly a locust?) on the leaf, so that all you can see is his shadow and a pair of antennae, and then his worried little face as he looks over the edge of the leaf right into the camera.  I smile every time I see that picture. 🙂

Fall is upon us now, and I hope you all are ready for it.  Hard to think summer is over, but the sweatshirt weather is always nice.  Have a great day!  I hope you like the photos.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2014 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Summer Adventures with a Macro Lens

  1. Uncle Tree

    September 30, 2014 at 8:25 PM

    Yes! These are super-sharp and interesting! 🙂 Nice shots! Cheerz, Uncle Tree

     
    • Jenna

      October 1, 2014 at 9:36 AM

      Thanks so much, Uncle Tree! I appreciate it. 🙂

       
  2. Jocelyne

    October 12, 2014 at 12:30 PM

    WOW Jenna, they are all amazing ! I can’t believe how beautiful these photos are. The photo showing the face of the grasshopper is wonderfully beautiful, I can see you could win a prize with it in a photo contest. I never saw a twig-like caterpillar, it’s amazing how they perfectly look like a twig. My favourites are # 122, 070, 099, 041 and 079 and my very favourite is # 041 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      October 13, 2014 at 10:32 AM

      Jocelyne, this is extremely high praise coming from you! Thank you so much for the comments. It means a lot that you like them. Ever since I got caught up in photography, the idea of getting very close-up shots of insects has really appealed to me, so you can imagine how happy I am to finally have the equipment to photograph them. You’re very kind. Thank you. Have a great week! 🙂

       

Leave a comment